Cuesta College Logo Academic Support
Cuesta Home Academic Support Center Academic Support Disabled Student Programs & Services Tutorial Services

Levels of Comprehension

The three levels of comprehension, or sophistication of thinking, are presented in the following hierarchy from the least to the most sophisticated level of reading.

  • Least = surface, simple reading
  • Most = in-depth, complex reading

Level One

LITERAL - what is actually stated.

  • Facts and details
  • Rote learning and memorization
  • Surface understanding only

TESTS in this category are objective tests dealing with true / false, multiple choice and fill-in-the blank questions.

Common questions used to illicit this type of thinking are who, what, when, and where questions.

Level Two

INTERPRETIVE - what is implied or meant, rather than what is actually stated.

  • Drawing inferences
  • Tapping into prior knowledge / experience
  • Attaching new learning to old information
  • Making logical leaps and educated guesses
  • Reading between the lines to determine what is meant by what is stated.

TESTS in this category are subjective, and the types of questions asked are open-ended, thought-provoking questions like why, what if, and how.

Level Three

APPLIED - taking what was said (literal) and then what was meant by what was said (interpretive) and then extend (apply) the concepts or ideas beyond the situation.

  • Analyzing
  • Synthesizing
  • Applying

In this level we are analyzing or synthesizing information and applying it to other information.



Previous Page

Back to Table of Contents

Next Page


Return to Top